No.J-20011/7/98-IA.III Government of India Ministry of Environment & Forests

Paryavaran Bhawan, CGO Complex, Lodhi Road, New Delhi – 110 003.

Dated May 26, 2010

OFFICE MEMORANDUM

Sub: Reconstitution of High Level Monitoring Committee under the Notification No. S.O. No. 52 (E) dated 17th January, 2001 (Mahableswar – Panchgani as an Eco-Sensitive Region).

In pursuance of the Notification No. S.O. No. 52 (E) dated 17th January, 2001, Government of India in the Ministry of Environment and Forests hereby reconstitutes the High Level Monitoring Committee comprising of the following:-

i. Shri Devrat Mehta IAS (Retd) 404, Shalaka, Maharshi Karve Road Mumbai - 400021

Chairman

ii. Dr. Farrukh Framji Wadia Ex-Member 1st Regional Planning Board Govt. Of Maharashtra 8, Nagar Road, Yeravada, Pune - 411006

Member

iii. Dr. J.S. Samant, Ex- Director, BNHS RAAI No. 379, R.K. Nagar, Kolhapur – 416 013.

Member

iv. Secretary (Environment), Govt. of Maharashtra, Mantralaya, Mumbai.

Member

Representative of CPCB Central Pollution Control Board, Parivesh Bhawan, CBD-cum-Office Complex, East Arjun Nagar, Delhi - 110 0032

Member

Deputy Director, Town Planning, Pune Division Government of Maharashtra.

- Member

Director, : Member VII. Municipal Admn. Govt. of Maharashtra Mumbai

VIII. Conservator of Forests District Satara. Govt. of Maharashtra

Member

ix. Representative of MoEF New Delhi.

Member

District Collector, X. Satara, Maharashtra.

Member - Secretary

- The terms of reference of the Committee are as follows: 2.
 - To ensure monitoring of compliance of the provisions of the (i) Mahableswar - Panchgani Notification published in the Gazette of India Extra-ordinary Part II Section (3) Sub-Section (ii), S.O. 52 (E) dated 17th January, 2001.
 - To discharge the functions specifically enumerated in the (ii) notification and do all things incidental thereto (except the functions as are required to be performed by the Central Government under the provisions of the EIA Notification of 14th September, 2006 as amended from time to time).

- 3. The Committee or any officer or member of the Monitoring Committee authorized by the Committee shall file complaints under Section 19 of the Environment (Protection) Act, 1986, if offences under the said Act come to the notice of the Committee.
- The tenure of the Committee is for a period of two years and can be subsequently extended, if necessary, by the Government of India.
- 5. All expenditure relating to the functioning of the Monitoring Committee shall be borne by the Government of Maharashtra.
- 6. The Monitoring Committee shall meet at least once in two months and dispose of its business within a period of 90 days.
- 7. The quorum for the Monitoring Committee shall not be less than five members including the Chairman.
- 8. TA/DA for the non-official members for attending the meetings of the Monitoring Committee and undertaking site visits etc., if any, in connection with its functioning, shall be met by the Government of Maharashtra as per the State Government rules.
- This issues with the approval of the Competent Authority.

(Dr. G.V. Subrahmanyam)
Adviser

Tele No. 24364594

To:-

1. Chief Secretary, Government of Maharashtra, Mantralaya, Mumbai.

2. Secretary, Department of Environment, Government of Maharashtra, Mantralaya, Mumbai.

Chairman and the Members of the Monitoring Committee.Guard File.

Copy to:

- 1. PS to MOS (I/C) (E&F)
- 2. PPS to Secretary (E&F)
- 3. PPS to AS (MFF)