By Spend Post

F.No. 2/40/2005-ESZ (RE)-part file Government of India Ministry of Environment and Forests RE Division

Paryavaran Bhawan, CGO Complex, Lodhi Road, New Delhi-100 003

Dated: 21st February, 2014

OFFICE MEMORANDUM

Sub: Reconstitution of High Level Monitoring Committee under the Notification No. S.O. No. 52 (E) dated 7th January, 2001 declaring Mahableshwar-Panchgani region in the State of Maharashtra as Eco-Sensitive Zone.

In pursuance of the Notification S.O. No. 52 (E) dated the 7th January, 2001 declaring Mahableshwar- Panchgani region in the State of Maharashtra as Eco-Sensitive Zone, the Government of India in the Ministry of Environment and Forest hereby reconstitutes the High Level Monitoring Committee comprising of the following:

1. Shri P.D. Karandikar, IAS (Retd.) Chairman 705, Saptagiri Apartments, Near Dhanakude Vasti, Baner, Pune-411 045. 3371040013

 Dr. Aparna Watve, Biome Conservation Trust, 34/6, Gulawani Maharaj Road, Pune- 411 004. Member

3. Dr. Ankur Arun Patwardhan,
Research & Action in Natural
Wealth Administration,
Plot No. 16, Swastisheree Society,
Near Alankar Police Station,
Ganeshnagar, Kothrud
Pune- 411 052. 3823812653

Member

4. Secretary,
Department of Environment,
Government of Maharashtra,
Mantralaya, Mumbai.

Member

Secretary

 Department of Forests,
 Government of Maharashtra,
 Mantralaya
 Mumbai.

 Director,

 Municipal Administration
 Government of Maharashtra,
 Mumbai.

Member

Member

7. Deputy Director,
Town Planning, Pune Division,
Government of Maharashtra

Member

8.

Representative of MoEF, Government of India, New Delhi-110 003.

Member

9. Representative of CPCB.
Parivesh Bhavan, CBD-cum-Office Complex,
East Arjun Nagar,
Delhi-110 032.

Member

10. District Collector, Satara, , Maharashtra.

Member-Secretary

- 2. The terms of reference of the Monitoring Committee are as follows:-
- (i) To ensure monitoring of compliance of the provisions of the Notification declaring Mahableshwar-Panchgani and surrounding region in the State of Maharashtara as Eco-Sensitive Zone published in the Gazette of India, Extraordinary Part II Section (3) Sub-Section (ii), S.O. No. 52 (E) dated 17th January, 2001.
- (ii) To discharge the functions specifically enumerated in the Notification and do all things incidental thereto (except the functions as are required to be performed by the Central Government under the provisions of the Environment Impact Assessment (EIA) Notification of 14th September, 2006 as amended from time to time).

- The Committee or any officer or member of the Monitoring Committee authorized by the Committee shall file complaints under Section 19 of the Environment (Protection) Act, 1986, if offences under the said Act come to the notice of the Committee.
 The tenure of the Committee is for a period of two years and can be subsequently
- The tenure of the Committee is for a period of two years and can be subsequently extended by the Government of India, if necessary.
- All the expenditure related to the functioning of the Monitoring Committee shall be borne by the State Government of Maharashtra.
- The Monitoring Committee shall meet at least once in two months and dispose of its business within a period of 90 days.
- The quorum for the Monitoring Committee shall not be less than five members including the Chairman.
- 8. TA/DA for the non-official members of the Committee for attending the meetings of the Monitoring Committee and undertaking site visit etc. if any, in connection with its functioning shall be met by the Government of Maharashtra as per the State Government rules.
- 9. This issues with the approval of the Competent Authority.

Je /21/0/2014

(Satish C. Garkoti) Director

To,

- The Chief Secretary, Government of Maharashtra, Mantralaya, Mumbai-400 032.
- The Secretary, Department of Environment, Government of Maharashtra, Mantralaya, Mumbai-400 032.
- The Secretary, Department of Forests, Government of Maharashtra, Mantralaya, Mumbai- 400 032.
- The Secretary, Department of Urban Development, Government of Maharashtra, Mantralaya, Mumbai-400 032.
- 5. The Chairman and the Members of the Monitoring Committee.
- 6. Guard File.

Copy to:

- 1. PS to Hon'ble MEF, New Delhi.
- 2. PPS to Secretary (E&F)
- 3. PPS to AS (HP)
- 4. PS to Adviser (GVS)